Sun. Jul 21st, 2019

Malinga left out for India T20Is; Vishwa Fernando called up

2 min read

Sri Lanka Cricket has forgotten chief quick bowler Lasith Malinga from the forthcoming three-coordinate T20 International arrangement against India.

Malinga (34), the previous Sri Lanka T20I chief, was sidelined for right around a year with knee damage that he got in front of the World T20 in India before making a rebound in February this year.

Malinga was cut out from the ODI squad for Sri Lanka’s voyage through UAE in October and wasn’t considered for the three-coordinate T20I arrangement after his hesitance to go to Lahore for the last session of the arrangement.

The quick bowler has battled with wellness and his pace dropped fundamentally, despite the fact that his profits in T20 cricket weren’t too terrible in 2017 having guaranteed 12 wickets in six recreations. His profits in ODI cricket, be that as it may, have been disillusioning with just 10 wickets in 13 recreations at a normal of 62.

A media discharge from Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) said that Malinga has been refreshed, however it is learnt that the board is quick to proceed onward investigating more youthful players. Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep and Vishwa Fernando were named as the three quick bowlers and they will be went down by all-rounders Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera and Dasun Shanaka. Perera will lead the side.

There were just three changes from the 16-part ODI squad that is as of now in India. Quick bowler Suranga Lakmal has been refreshed while top request batsmen Lahiru Thirimanne and Dhananjaya de Silva were forgotten. All-rounder Dasun Shanaka and quick bowler Vishwa Fernando have been gotten for the T20I arrangement.

A few players named in the T20I squad weren’t a piece of the squad that highlighted in the last arrangement against Pakistan. They were ineligible for choice after their hesitance to go to Lahore for the last T20I.

The principal round of the up and coming arrangement will happen in Cuttack on the twentieth December with the last amusement occurring in Mumbai on the eve of Christmas.

Sri Lanka T20I Squad: Thisara Perera (C) Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Janith Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Asela Gunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Chaturanga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep and Vishwa Fernando

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *